Alternate Maps (click here)

FAQs

COMPONENTS

Cloth Playmat: The cloth playmat serves three purposes. First, it acts as a perfectly symmetrical 2-player board for folks that like that sort of thing. Second, it's lightning fast to set up, even if you're not using the printed side: just place game tiles on the printed mat so that they cover the cloth print; when you feel the board has enough variety, stop laying tiles and start playing. Last but not least, the cloth mat creates a bit more friction between the game tiles and the tabletop, so even if you are playing on the non-printed side and setting up your own unique board, the cloth helps prevent your board from getting bumped or jostled during setup and/or actual gameplay.

 

TERMS & DEFINITIONS

Adjacent: Adjacent & LOS apply to characters that are currently occupying the same square. If two characters are occupying the same square, the active player may determine who is affected by LOS abilities. Adjacent always applies to orthogonal spaces and not diagonal spaces unless otherwise specified. Although some characters may move diagonally (Bard, Puppeteer), adjacent spaces are still defined orthogonally unless specified. 

Diagonal Movement: Legal diagonal movement is defined by being able to walk two spaces towards the designated, diagonal space. If there are hedges or other obstacles impeding all paths (forcing a character to walk more than two spaces), then the diagonal movement is not legal. For example, if there is one hedge preventing a character from walking east and then north, but there are no hedges blocking a character from walking north and then east, a character with the ability to move diagonally could move one diagonal space (thereby moving 1 space northeast).

 

GAMEPLAY

Strawberry PluckingCharacters may still “pluck” strawberries if their item slots are full (and they receive the VP for doing so!); however, they must also discard a currently held item or the recently plucked strawberry (though the character may keep the VP token he/she earned for plucking the discarded strawberry). Characters can pluck strawberries that other characters are standing on as long as they don't end their turn in the same space as another character.

Bonus AP: Bonus AP from carrying a strawberry can be used to deposit strawberries or to give them to another character. 

 

NEUTRAL MONSTERS

HYDRA

  • Dive: If two bridges are next to each other, the Hydra could dive under both bridges and appear on the opposite side (effectively moving three spaces instead of one). This movement would only cost one character activation (the same as a regular Hydra movement).

 

Character NOtes (IMPERIAL HARVEST BASE GAME)

BASILISK

  • Petrifying Gaze: This ability affects all characters including allied and enemy characters. Characters lose 2 AP if they enter Basilisk’s line-of-sight at any point. This ability is in effect at all times.
  • Poison Blood: This ability is in effect at all times. 

BARBARIAN

  • Chop: If two hedges are adjacent to each other (because of tile orientation), does the Barbarian need to spend two "chopped hedge" tokens to destroy the hedge or just one? He needs to chop twice to get through both hedges.
  • Throwing Axe: Barbarian may attack over water spaces. Water does not block LOS. 

BARD

  • Inspirational Ballad: The Bard is not affected by Inspirational Ballad. A character may enter/leave the range of Inspirational Ballad but still maintain the +1 AP effect.
  • War Cry: Enemy characters lose 1 AP if they enter the range of War Cry at any point.

BUCCANEER

  • Adjacent & Ranged abilities: Treat the Buccaneer as though she were on land when dealing with adjacent and ranged abilities.
  • Swashbuckle: The Buccaneer may end her turn on a water space. She can only enter a water space diagonally but can enter land spaces either orthogonally or diagonally (per normal rules of movement).

ENGINEER

  • Snap Trap: Use the tokens on the back of strawberries as trap tokens. Traps affect all characters including allied characters and the Engineer. Characters are only unaffected by the traps if they skip over the space entirely ie Engineer's Springboard, Wyvern's Whoosh,  or Monk's Grapple. The full AP cost must be used before the trap is discarded.
  • Improbable Object: The Engineer may move  any trap on the board.   
  • Springboard: If two or more traps are adjacent to one another, the Engineer can only skip over the first one.  

HOUND

  • Bite: Drop the strawberry in the space occupied by the affected character. This strawberry is treated as if it had never been plucked. If the affected character has no legal movements available, the Hound may still use the ability, but the affected character does not move. 

IMPERIAL GUARDIAN

  • Tower Shield: This ability only affects/inhibits LOS (not movement).

MERCHANT (MERCHANT DECK)

  • Items: Although items do not occupy item slots for the Merchant due to the Inventory ability, items given to other character DO occupy a slot. On the back of strawberries is an item token, use this as the marker. 
  • Flute: the AP bonus can occur at any time for each unique character that becomes adjacent to the flute holder. 

MONK

  • Grapple: Grapple throws the character two spaces from where the Monk is standing. The Monk may occupy the same space in order to Grapple the character since occupying the same space is considered adjacent. The Monk cannot grapple himself.
  • Plant: Hedges may be planted on the borders of bridges.

NYMPH

  • Changeling: The Nymph absorbs all abilities of adjacent characters as if they were her own as long as the characters remain within range. When characters leave the Nymph's range, she loses those abilities. Abilities like Inspirational Ballad, Feral, Petrifying Gaze are in effect even if the Nymph is not active. 
  • Aura of Tranquility: This ability affects allied and enemy characters. Characters are affected whenever they enter the range of Aura of Tranquility. If two Nymphs enter each other’s Aura of Tranquility, both Nymphs are rendered powerless.

PUPPETEER 

  • Once-per-turn: could you force another character to use their ability more than once during the Puppeteer’s turn? Yes, unless it was a “once per turn” ability. If the target ability were “once per turn,” the Puppeteer would only be able to force that ability once during his turn. For example, if the allied Merchant character used Barter (a once-per-turn ability) to draw an Equipment Card, the Puppeteer could follow up by forcing the Merchant to use Barter a second time (gaining a second VP). The Puppeteer would not be able to force the use of this ability again, though, since he had already done so once during his own turn and must follow the exact wording of the target ability. Effectively, Barter would be used once per character turn (once during the Merchant’s turn, and once during the Puppeteer’s turn).
  • Using a character's ability to move another character: The Sorceress cannot move a Rogue/Aethereal archetype diagonally/over hedges. This would require the sorceress to use that character's ability. The Puppeteer could move a Rogue/Aethereal archetype diagonally/over hedges by first using Arcane Puppetry (for 0 AP) and then moving the characters with Ventriloquism.
  • Arcane Puppetry: May not force characters to perform actions/abilities that are not listed on the character’s card (drop, give, pluck, etc). This also applies to abilities granted by Equipment (e.g., items from the Merchant Deck); the Puppeteer cannot force characters to use these items.
  • Arcane Puppetry/Ventriloquism: the indicated range is obstructed by hedges and water spaces.

REGENT

  • Command: Command is a global ability.
  • Point of Order: If an unused allied character token (sentry) is defeated, the Regent loses one of the VP tokens from his character card (those placed there as a result of Point of Order). If three or more allied characters (or allied character tokens) are defeated, the Regent cannot lose any more VP tokens (he has already lost the 3VP from Point of Order and may not lose any of the VP earned as a result of plucking strawberries, etc).
  • Sentry: Sentries are treated like a normal character except they cannot be activated. They are always attacking the space immediately in front of them as well as the space they occupy. They are affected by abilities, can be defeated, and block LOS but not movement, however, movement into their space will defeat the traversing character. 

SKIN-CHANGER

  • Feral: Feral is an ability that is constantly in effect. If another character enters the same space as the Skin-Changer, they will be defeated. 

SORCERESS

  • Charm/Compulsion: The Sorceress cannot move a Rogue/Aethereal archetype diagonally/over hedges. This would require the sorceress to use that character's ability. The Puppeteer could move a Rogue/Aethereal archetype diagonally/over hedges by first using Arcane Puppetry (for 0 AP) and then moving the characters with Ventriloquism.
  • Compulsion: AP is spent before the ability takes place. As such, the compulsed character may be move out of LOS.

WYVERN

  • Whoosh: Whoosh enables the Wyvern to pass over all obstacles (such as water, hedges, and impasses) as well as all Traps; however, the Wyvern may still be affected by passive abilities (like Unicorn's Inspired Light, the Basilisk's Petrifying Gaze, and the Hydra's One Hundred Heads).
  • Gust: Could you push someone over the moat if you were standing on the same space? No, movement must be legal.